The Blumenthal Blahs

blumenthalsign.PNG

The Day has an editorial about Richard Blumenthal’s prospective run for governor in 2010.

The message? This time, he’s really absolutely super totally seriously committed to running.Whatever. I’m not holding my breath. There is absolutely nothing exciting to me about a Blumenthal candidacy–at least, not yet.

The reason? He’s been in Hartford since 1990, he’s politically cautious, perhaps to a fault, and he has a record that has largely gone unexamined during his four bids for re-election. I also get the feeling that he’s running because it’s sort of time for him to run (in fact, it’s past time), but I am not exactly sure where he stands on the issues. What sort of governor will he be? Will he bring reform and fresh ideas to an executive branch that desperately needs them? Or will he spend time proposing dreck like his recent social networking bill?

At the very least, Blumenthal deserves a primary. Unfortunately, I expect all serious contenders will quickly remove themselves from the field as soon as he makes it clear he’s running–although, with public financing in place, there may be a few surprises yet.

Right now, however, he looks inevitable, like a very slow and ponderous steamroller bearing down on a lazy, lazy Democratic Party. Too bad.

39 responses to “The Blumenthal Blahs

  1. TrueBlueCT

    C’mon Genghis. You haven’t laid out a single reason why Blumenthal wouldn’t be a heck of a candidate, and one heck of a governor.

    I wish people would consider the possibility that what our Democratic Statehouse needs is a strong Democratic Governor. Certainly the current system isn’t working all too well.

  2. I think our next governor needs to want the job, not just feel like he or she is the next Democrat in line. Blumenthal reminds me a lot of Tom Reilly in Massachusetts last year. He’s the popular and bland Attorney General waiting for the next moderate Republican to step aside. I seem to get a sense of entitlement from him, at least for the nomination.

    This is why candidates like Dan Malloy and John DeStefano deserve more credit. They were willing to go after an important job when it wasn’t convenient. They’re both more inspiring than Blumenthal would be, and are willing to put more on the line. You wouldn’t have seen such a hard-fought primary for the chance to run against Rell unless these two candidates really were up to the hard work of being Governor. I hope we see Malloy give it another shot in 2010. Connecticut would be better off for it.

  3. CTcentrist

    Malloy would indeed be a far better choice than Tricky Dick. He is way too political – about everything. The most recent example being the fact he sent an unprepared weakling before the Supreme Court to argue the same sex-marriage case. With the money he is paid, and the historic ramifications of the case, Tricky Dick should have been there. Obviously, he didn’t want to show up and win the case, and then be painted as the guy who killed gay marriage. He is a spineless, over-regulating, knee-jerk reacting weasal out for nothing more than political gain disguised as “fighting for the little guy”, IMO.

  4. [quote comment=”9726″]He is a spineless, over-regulating, knee-jerk reacting weasal out for nothing more than political gain disguised as “fighting for the little guy”, IMO.[/quote]

    Tell us how you really feel. 🙂

  5. I think he’s one hell of an Attorney General who would make a great judge and do a much better job than Gonzales. I just can’t get excited about someone who is running for an office that they don’t really seem to want. If he wanted to be governor, Blumenthal should’ve challenged Rowland or Rell. (He would’ve had a better shot than Chris Murphy did against Nancy Johnson, and look how that went.) I’d much rather see someone like Malloy running for the Demcorats. He seems much more enthusiastic about being our governor.

  6. Genghis Conn

    [quote post=”526″]Blumenthal reminds me a lot of Tom Reilly in Massachusetts last year. He’s the popular and bland Attorney General waiting for the next moderate Republican to step aside. I seem to get a sense of entitlement from him, at least for the nomination.[/quote]
    I think this is very accurate. You’re right, he assumes it’s his. And why not? When was the last time he actually had a serious challenger?

    I also hope Malloy isn’t scared off. It would be a good primary, if nothing else, and Democrats would have a choice.

  7. Maybe a Malloy/Blumenthal ticket.

  8. I know many in his office are tired of his constant effort to get media attention especially when his office has little or no intention of actively pursuing the matter.

    I am not a big fan of his because of his willingness to disparage a individual before all of the facts are know in order to get his media attention. I am sick of his press conferences where he will say soimething like “this raises serious questions”…Hold the press conference when you have answered those serious questions.

    I will give him his due. He makes appearances all over the state for all types of events. He has great energy and commitment to public service. Too bad the Governor didn’t have a little more of that wanting to be out with the public.

  9. Won’t that POWERHOUSE DeStafano have something to say about this? Mua ha ha ha!

  10. Actually I think the perfect spot for Bloomie would be co anchoring the WFSB evening news with Al Terzi and Denise D’Ascenzo. Al is certainly gentleman enough to give Bloomie all the camera time Bloomie’s ego could possibly need and if he still wants more he could do the morning weather with Scot Haney as well…..

    Best of all, I usually watch the NBC news so I could be certain of at least one station I could tune to each day and not see Bloomie.

  11. Very good Al,

    I always seem to meet our AG on his way into events and have made it a point to tell him where the TV cameras are which he seems to appreciate.

    I’m betting Blumenthol will be one of the first nominees for a federal judgeship the new Democratic President in 08 will nominate and he’ll never run for Governor.

  12. If memory serves me, Bloomie had an opportunity for a seat on the 2nd Circuit during the Clinton years, but he turned it down.

  13. [quote comment=”9725″]This is why candidates like Dan Malloy and John DeStefano deserve more credit. They were willing to go after an important job when it wasn’t convenient. They’re both more inspiring than Blumenthal would be, and are willing to put more on the line.[/quote]

    This is a good point. No one can deny Blumenthal’s popularity within the state party, but at this point can anyone really believe he wants to be our Governor? I mean really, there’s nothing like a candidate running begrudgingly for higher office to inspire the electorate.

  14. Attorney General Richard Blumenthal and other state officials are trying to figure out whether one of the state’s four Medicaid managed care organizations is reporting all of its profits, which the state relies on for setting the firm’s payment rates. At issue is whether WellCare of Connecticut Inc. properly reported millions of dollars in income it received from Connecticut and then sent to its recently established reinsurance subsidiary in the Cayman Islands.

    http://www.courant.com/news/local/hc-wellcare0521.artmay21,0,5678777.story?coll=hc-headlines-local

  15. Thanks Keith,

    Remember my comments on my feelings regarding term limits the other day?….To me this is a perfect example of why I feel we need them…. I have no idea at all, exactly what this guy has accomplished in his many years as AG, that would give him such a complete lock on that office every election? To me he is a bigger part of some of our problems here than he is any solution.

    I certainly will give him credit for showing up everywhere each day and night giving support to those in his party, esp. if there is the slightest possibility that a TV camera could be anywhere in a 5 mile radius, but if we put partisan party politics aside here, and simply look at his record, if that is even possible, just how good or bad an AG has he been?? I have to be honest, I really don’t know…..

    My suspicions are that he is a far better press agent for himself, than a results getter. Usually those who get results can let those results do the talking for themselves, they don’t need to be the center of attention each day.

    JM,

    I seem to remember something like what you suggested in your post……But again honestly I always thought he was more interested in being a senator and was waiting for his turn to come up…..It seemed as perfect to me for him as being a member of the WFSB team. He could get all the TV time he wanted, talk to his heart content about anything, and not worry about results. That is why him possibly thinking of running for Gov. strikes me as strange.

    I guess it is possible that Rell has inspired him to consider that all I mentioned above is possible for him in Hartford as well as Washington too!!! Besides, why have to share the TV camera in Washington with someone when he could have it all to himself here?? Damn, the more I think of it the more sense it makes!!! 🙂

  16. Genghis Conn

    [quote post=”526″]My suspicions are that he is a far better press agent for himself, than a results getter.[/quote]
    This is another good point. Blumenthal files a lot (A LOT) of lawsuits that are high-profile and attention-grabbing. But how many of them go anywhere?

  17. Al,

    If Blumenthol had an ounce of hutspa he’d be our Jr. Senator right now instead of still using the same old line in his speeches where he calls himself “That other Jewish kid from Fairfeild county”.

    He’s probably a shoe in For Gov if he runs but I agree with you it will be a very unispiring election season if he does and that nobody knows where the hell he stands on any state or federal issue of importance and probably won’t find out until after he’s elected.

    Hey,Rell got away with it!

  18. GC,

    The lawsuits AGs bring have mostly had a positive effect on bad corperate behavior.My problem is that the AGs(I’m talking about the ones they do as a group)is that they settle for too little and don’t make the corperate bandits pay for their crimes ith jail time.This means CEOs just consider paying large settlements for actual criminal activity as “a cost of doing business”.

    The CEOs of the 5 big stock trading corps should have all had to do time and lost their personal fortunes for the fraud they perpatrated on Wall St. But Elliot ,Dick and the rest of the AG decided getting a bundle of cash for their states and higher office for themselves was more important than justice.

  19. wtfdnucsailor

    I would much rather see Malloy as the DEM candidate. He has successfully run a large city and knows what it takes in the executive branch. I has great ideas and is an outstanding leader. I hope Blulmenthal gets his federal judgeship.

  20. [quote post=”526″]I wish people would consider the possibility that what our Democratic Statehouse needs is a strong Democratic Governor.[/quote]

    Why’s that, so they can actually implement all the bad policy they propose? A Dem in the Gov’s mansion would mean a quicker death sentence to this state’s economy. Anyone read the article in the Commentary section of Sunday’s Connecticut Post? Outlines the future economic environment of this state pretty well. Thank you Democratic majority, Lowell Weicker, John Rowland, etc…Pretty soon we’re going to start looking like the French…rioting and burning cars to let all that pent up energy that’s been stored while we sit on our asses all day, soaking up all of our free benefits given to us by the recently exiled wealthy taxpayers’ estate taxes.

  21. Oh wait, nevermind, there won’t be any “recently exiled wealthy taxpayers” by 2010, they’ll all have left 2 years earlier…

  22. I found this link to the Washington Post over at MLN today. It talks about how the GOP is behind the eight ball oon using the Internet to their advantage. We see a lot of that here. While Genghis has put up a team from the left and the right as front page posters he has only been able to find posters from the right who rarley post. On the left we have Gabe and cgg who are both actively involved in their parties – they air their issues here and they are somtimes at odds with other party members publicly since that type of debate is promoted by the Democrats. The Republicans on the other hand will do some taking on of thier establishement but it cetain topics tend to be off limits. And the comments here follow similar lines of thinking. The Dems will air some ideas while the Republicans tend to counter arguments and spew talking points. That’s all generally speaking because there are always excpetions.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/05/20/AR2007052001408.html

  23. JustShutUp–

    Under the current set-up, the buck stops nowhere. Tell me, who is responsible for the ship of state? Rell, or the Dem legislature?

    And for the record, both DeStefano and Malloy have done simply fantastic jobs in managing their cities. I’m going to argue that they’d do equally well in managing the state.

    Our biggest problem is that there is no one person to be held accountable for what goes on in Hartford. Gosh knows, if we all had a vote, Jimmy Amann would not be allowed anywhere near the state’s budget.

  24. Malloy and JDS have done marginally better in managing their cities when compared to Rell’s governance. Noneo f them are stars in my view.

  25. Gosh Toucan. You don’t live here in New Haven. The turn-around is simply incredible, and 10-15 years ago, no one was expecting the city to do anything but get worse and worse.

  26. I am not trashing New Haven at all, TBCT. But there are defintiley issues with JDS’s administration.

  27. Actually, I blame all majority legislators and governors, from O’Neill to Rell, for the desperate economic situation that currently exists. All are responsible for poor fiscal management and massively increasing spending packages…unnecessarily I might add

  28. I highly doubt Malloy or Destefano would have reduced spending in Hartford

  29. I guess when I look at New Haven these days I ask is this city, a model of my view for CT? I come to the same conclusion when I look at Meriden. I just don’t see the changes in either city that would inspire me to keep re electing the same people and party each year. Let alone seriously consider any currently elected official from those cities as being able to improve results at the state level. But then I don’t live either city, so I have to assume the people who do live there must be very happy with those results or they would make a change.

    I also cannot understand why we would need a democratic governor as well as a democratic GA to make it clear who is responsible for the state of this state. If I let a fox and a wolf loose into my chicken coop and the next day all the chickens are dead do I really care which of the two is responsible for killing the most chickens? Responsibility for responsible leadership does not stop at the party door. Both parties esp the people we elect to represent us are responsible and both parties and those elected should be held accountable for the results.

  30. Obviously neither city is perfect, but anyone who doesnt think Stamford and New Haven have been vastly improved under their current mayors is either not old enough to remember, or not paying attention.

  31. Brian,

    I don’t doubt your observations. My comment above however did not include Stamford. I so seldom go there so I have no idea if it is better or worse. My comment was directed at New Haven where I did go to college more years ago now than I would like to admit to, and Meriden where I went to H.S.

    I just don’t see the vast improvement you suggest there has been in New Haven….In fairness I don’t live there so maybe there is more than what I think there is…..I will admit besides the fact I could not make much sense out of DeStafano’s spending ideas he put forward during the election, I was not comfortable with him because I just didn’t see the improvements in New Haven you say has occurred that would make me think he would be a good governor. Maybe if somehow during the election more emphasis on those improvements were made for us voters, some of us including myself may have been swayed his way. Certainly if we compare New Haven to Hartford I would not argue one moment with you however.

    But for me given how much money we pump into our big cities I would expect to see more evidence of that money being wisely used in them. Especially in New Haven. I have always felt New Haven has the chance to be a model city for our state as well as the entire North East. It is wonderfully located mid state on the coast. Mid way between NYC. Boston, and even Providence. It is a college town that draws people in from all over the world. It has more cultural possibilities than most cities it’s size. It has a lot going for it. I guess I don’t understand why by now it isn’t sort of a miniature Boston.

    My old home town of Meriden….Well take a ride downtown, any time, any day. You can count the number of cars on one hand and the number of people on the other…..

  32. Dickie ain’t running for Gov in 2010.

    He’s only interested in US Senate. As Genghis’ well done campaign sign indicates, he’s had plenty of chances to run for that slot. Not gonna happen.

    Being US Senator is a country club membership compared to the rough ride of being leader of an a state (even a teenie one).

    Skelator simly doesn’t have the guts for the job.

  33. I would say Stamford is the best city in the state, followed closely by Norwalk.

    Not a commentary on the leadership, I’m not familiar enough with that — although guess it is a credit to them.

    Biggest factor is the proximity to NYC… obviously.

    As far as some of the others…. Meridan is still in the bronze years. Why would anyone want to live there? Talk about a depressing place….

    New Haven as a few things going for it…. Yale, Sally’s, Lighthouse Point… but my sister lives in Hamden and says New Haven is spirraling downwards…

    Bridgeport is a wasted opportunity. Stamford and Norwalk do so well, yet Bridgeport is left behind. And that broad waterfront just being wasted.

    Someday, Bridgeport will get its act together (I hope).

  34. Oh hell yes, New Haven is a model American city. Between the through-the-roof property taxes, the record homicide rate in 2006 (and please tell me here how there hasn’t been but one or two murders so far this year; I’m so impressed, wait until July) and the Serpico-worthy soap opera that is the NHPD, what we really needed in Connecticut last November was a statewide shpritz of John DeStefano, I don’t think.

    TBCT will lie him up till the cows come home but JDS is a crook from the get-go, and more and more of the New Haven electorate is coming to the same realization. The sad thing is it’s also a one-party town and probably will always be a one-party town, which means unless the Democrats get tired of crapping where they sleep – and they certainly show no signs of it – New Haven can look forward to many more years in the clutches of SEIU 1199, AFSCME and the dregs of the entitlement and poverty pimps.

  35. “Here in New haven… for everyone to see…

    New Haven Look what we got! You and me…!”

  36. AG Blumenthal has improperly used his office to forward his political agenda. Contrary to the assertions above — especially those of ctkeith — the AG in Connecticut is not the people’s lawyer and therefore should not be praised for using his office for forwarding his liberal agenda especially when he is often without the power to do so. Check out the statutes governing the office! The AG is the government’s lawyer; almost without exception the role of the office is to represent (i.e. defend) — not attack, as he often does — the state agencies. In fact, in 2002 the Connecticut Supreme Court “bench slapped” Blumenthal for grossly exceding his authority. The court ruled that the AG had “no common law authority” and therefore could only act in the fact of clear legislative authority, i.e. where he was representing an agency.

    I think many of those evaluating Blumenthal on these and other pages — especially liberals who espouse distaste for Pres. Bush’s expansion of power — should read Barnes and also the statutes governing the Office of the Attorney General before passing judgment. A more thorough understanding of the office will force such liberals to confront the fact that the AG is, at best, doing what they distaste most about the President. One can only shudder at what he would do as the executive here in CT. http://www.jud.state.ct.us/EXTERNAL/supapp/Cases/AROcr/261cr122.pdf

  37. is the AG out from under his desk yet? tell him hes safe from same sex case now.

    I saw him on tv over weekend railing about gas prices again. this time at a pumping station. the 1st time out of his car at these weird filling places. his driver had to show him where to fill up and what super meant.

  38. The Hartford Courant had a front page story yesterday on the gas tax and the pros and cons of suspending it for the summer….What I found so interesting was the amount CT charges for the Gross Receipt tax compared to the other NE states. Remember, this addtional state tax is on top of the $0.25/gal state sales tax the Republicans are suggesting be suspended for the summer.

    CT. charges about $0.16/gal. the next closest NE state to us is RI at $0.04/gal…… CT charges 4 times as much per gallon!!! Not bad enough I guess so Amann and his band of merry men support increasing the Gross Receipt tax even more come this July and again next July. I guess this is their idea of a progressive tax!!

    By far CT already has the highest total state gas tax burden in New England. At least Rell understands that since the Gross Receipt tax in placed on the wholesale price of the product, as the price goes up ( even if the “greedy” oil companies are to blame ) the state makes even more money off our misery. At least the sales tax stays the same no matter what the cost is. Does anyone else but me find this disgusting??

    I only point this out because I find it so blatantly hypocritical of our AG ( or to be 100% fair any elected official from the governor to all the members of the GA )to be mugging in front of the TV cameras claiming the oil companies are making windfall profits off of us, when it is his /(their) own state that is making the same windfall profits, and the leaders of his own party ( the AG’s ) that want to make even more, by increasing this hidden tax instead of at least capping it as Rell recommends.

    These are the very same people telling us they plan to cut the taxes for 90% of us.

  39. Blumenthal is a follower, not a leader. It was Lieberman that transformed the office. To know where Blumenthal is going, one has only to keep an eye on Spitzer, New York’s former attorney general. Concon is right in #36.

Leave a Reply

