A Challenger for Dodd?

What’s this?

Peter Schiff of Darien has a campaign website up, though it isn’t clear if he’s behind the site, or if it’s just a group trying to get him to run (I suspect the latter–who would announce presidential aspirations for 2012 on a 2010 senate site?).

Schiff was an economic adviser to Ron Paul’s presidential campaign, so Dr. Paul’s fans in Connecticut might welcome his candidacy.

(h/t Everyday Republican)

12 responses to “A Challenger for Dodd?

  1. I’m guessing this can’t be that legit when the first post on your campaign website claims Dodd is retiring. Then again, this someone associated with Ron Paul so I guess you never know:

    “In 2010, the Senate Chairman of the Banking Committee, author of the aggressive bailout plan, and the top recipient of political contributions from the insurance industry Chris Dodd will be giving up his senate seat. “

  2. I took that comment as an assertion of victory… which I don’t think is uncommon in politics. Without doing research, I’m guessing many Presidential candidates make similar statements about “when we win the White House.” So I don’t see the Dodd comment as OTT.

    But the stuff about running for POTUS seems OTT to me.

    And I already called Schiff to see if I can help.

    I’ve never seen him on the talk show circuit, but at minimum I bet he could bring back monetary policy to the debate… something we lost decades ago. And regardless of your feelings on fiat vs sound money or the existence of a central bank… having a debate is healthy.

  3. And I already called Schiff to see if I can help.

    assuming I learn more and still like him… but since he was an advisor to my candidate, Ron Paul M.D., I’m pretty sure I’ll like him.

  4. Peter Schiff of Darien has a campaign website up, though it isn’t clear if he’s behind the site, or if it’s just a group trying to get him to run (I suspect the latter–who would announce presidential aspirations for 2012 on a 2010 senate site?).

    whois lookup says the site is registered to someone named Anthony Astolfi .

  5. As for viability, I don’t have TV. But if:

    1) he’s on TV as much as the web suggests… and
    2) he’s personally wealthy (probable)… and
    3) he’s fairly well-versed in many government policies (he was a RP advisor and most of us are high-information, policy wonks)

    then he’s got to be considered somewhat credible… even if he has no election experience.

  6. btw, is he an R or D or other? I don’t see it on the website… and I think Dodd is vulnerable (though not highly) in a primary.

    Anybody know his registration? Does he live in Darien or is that just where his business is located?

  7. Before anyone jumps on the Schiff bandwagon, it appears that Mr. Schiff forgot the first rule of being a potential political candidate….you need to REGISTER to vote. There appears to be no Peter Schiff registered in Darien OR in Connecticut.

    I guess Mr. Schiff couldn’t find the time to register in between all those TV appearances….

    His site is also paid for by: “Political Exploration and Awareness Committee (PEAC).” I’m sure someone with much better research skills than I can review this…..

  8. His site is also paid for by: “Political Exploration and Awareness Committee (PEAC).” I’m sure someone with much better research skills than I can review this…..

    I don’t think they actually exist. The only references I’ve been able to find for them are references to that site. Someone on the Ron Paul forums doesn’t seem to think they’re real, either.

    I think this is a “draft Peter Schiff” site, and not actually authorized by Schiff himself.

  9. whois lookup says the site is registered to someone named Anthony Astolfi .

    peoplesearch doesn’t have anyone by that name in CT.

  10. Peoplesearch has a “Peter Schiff” listed in:

    Darien – no age
    New Canaan – 45
    Hartford – 56

    and a couple in NY state.

  11. The Anthony Astolfi in question is probably the one who is a self-employed “creative director” in California and a Ron Paul supporter.

  12. Front page publicity for Schiff today in the WSJ. The article goes on to note: They weren’t always entirely on the money. Mr. Schiff’s main thesis, that the U.S. dollar will crash, hasn’t panned out.

Leave a Reply

