Meriden Paper Outsources Printing

The Meriden Record-Journal is doing what I imagine a lot of other smaller papers will do eventually, and outsourcing its printing and distribution to a larger paper, in this case the Springfield Republican.

It works out for both papers, as the R-J gets to cut its costs and the Republican gets a funding boost. Unfortunately, jobs at the Meriden paper will be cut as its press shuts down, but the paper will continue.

10 responses to “Meriden Paper Outsources Printing

  1. As a daily reader of this paper all my life I do find this sadly ironic.

    This paper has rarely found a new cause that added to the cost of doing business it didn’t support. It rarely if ever found a Democrat it didn’t recommend for office, or rubber stamped for re election. As a result Meriden is awash with them, like ants at a never ending picnic. As one of the last businesses in the waste land that is today’s downtown Meriden it never seems to question why tearing down an old building to build a new parking lot by itself does not add business downtown to give some reason for any cars to use those lots.

    So now many longtime employees of this paper have become a victims of it’s own success. It now needs to do exactly the same as many other businesses have had to do to survive. Out source jobs that have become too expensive for it to pay for itself.

    My mother passed away a couple of weeks ago and she had been a long time reader of that paper. I must admit I did have just a hint of a smile on my face as I called to cancel her subscription. This paper can out source all it wants to save money I would suggest the owners of this paper seriously ask themselves if their problem is cost or reduced readership due to extreme lack of balance.

  2. My mother passed away a couple of weeks ago

    I’m sorry.

    Didn’t care for that when mine passed one bit.
    Still find myself seeing or hearing something then thinking,
    “wait till I mom about that….”

  3. My mother passed away a couple of weeks ago

    I’m sorry.

    Didn’t care for that when mine passed one bit.
    Still find myself seeing or hearing something then thinking,
    “wait till I tell mom about that….”

  4. weird!

    It posted twice………

  5. …. but the paper will continue.

    Oh well.

  6. ACR,

    Thanks,

    As sad as losing a parent is in this case it was a real blessing.

  7. I think it’s fun how conservatives are terrified of the return of the Fairness Doctrine, but still trot out the “oh woe is us the media is so slanted towards the Democrats” canard at every possibility.

    Sorry about your mom, Al. I hope your comments were just unfortunately worded, and that you don’t genuinely view her passing as a fair trade for the ability to stick it to the liberal media for a whopping 50 cents.

  8. I think it’s fun how conservatives are terrified of the return of the Fairness Doctrine,

    In what should be a free market-driven market, there should be no need for a Fairness Doctrine.

    Should radio stations be forced to double their per-spot advertising charge so as to cover 3 hours of Air America (with -0- advertisers save for some stray Birkenstock, granola or Volvo dealers) to offset airing Limbaugh for the same period of time?

  9. easthartfordtaxpayer

    More so who determines what is fair. If you have a libertarian on the radio does it count as left wing or right since their positions would fall in both camps…

    The fairness doctrine is arbitrary and anything but fair.

  10. Hi Matt,

    Thanks for your condolences. I am sorry if my comments sounded as if I was in any way suggesting my mother’s passing was worth canceling her subscription to this paper.

    I am also sorry if I sounded as if my comments suggested to you that the media is totally and profoundly just left slanted. It obviously is not. I certainly can site the Waterbury paper as a perfect example of right wing balance to the Meriden paper at least if you read the editorial opinions.

    I do however feel as a long time reader that over the years the Meriden Record has drifted so far to the left that today it is virtually unreadable to anyone looking for reasonable balance. I am not expecting any newspaper, including the Meriden Record to print only what I want to read. I am adult enough to accept another point of view. However I don’t need a daily dose of 4 or 5 out sourced editorials from the Boston Globe or the NY Times etc. telling me GWB and all Republicans are responsible everything wrong in this country. After a while I have to starting asking myself why not just cut out the middle man if that is what I want to limit my thinking to, and just buy those papers instead of the Meriden one. I suspect I am not alone in that feeling.

Leave a Reply

