How Do You Know Twitter Has Gone Mainstream?

Here is a recent tweet exchange between Senators McCaskill and Dodd:

clairecmc: Almost gave me a heart attack…but yahoo!!… Now on to UConn. Please make free throws on Sat guys.Go Tigers!
8:22 PM Mar 26th from web

SenChrisDodd: Looking forward to a great game against @clairecmc ‘s Tigers tomorrow. Here is hoping my UConn Huskies come out on top!
about 15 hours ago from web

SenChrisDodd: @clairecmc How about a friendly wager on tomorrow’s Elite Eight game between my Huskies and your Tigers?
about 14 hours ago from txt

SenChrisDodd: @clairecmc I’ll put up some New Haven apizza for you and your staff that UConn comes out on top.
about 14 hours ago from txt

clairecmc: @SenChrisDodd You’re on. Happy to supply Arthur Bryant’s BBQ to your office if UConn manages a win. Get ready for 40 min of chaos! M I Z!
about 14 hours ago from TinyTwitter

SenChrisDodd: @clairecmc It’s a deal. GO HUSKIES!!
about 13 hours ago from txt

I love to see the old municipal food-bet-on-sporting-events updated for a new generation in a new technology. For the record, I think the Huskies will pull this one out – they aren’t losing until they run into an NBA-quality big man, and it’s not happening today (although I think the Tigers may be a year or two away from becoming a perennial favorite to make the final four). The game is on at 4:40pm on CBS. Consider this a technology or college basketball open forum.

6 responses to “How Do You Know Twitter Has Gone Mainstream?

  1. AndersonScooper

    Dodd is totally cutting edge.

    I mean this diary is s-o-o-o making me forget that our Senate Banking Chair is about to push through credit card “reforms”, that will continue to allow the banks to charge struggling Americans usurious interest rates of 25-30%!

    If anyone from Dodd’s team is listening in, hear it from me. No one wants a slickly re-packaged Chris Dodd. Instead we want honest reform and a Senator who is willing and able to take the people’s side against Big Corporate interests. (Which must be hard to do when your wife is using corporate board memberships to pocket close to half a million $$$/year in director’s fees and stock options.)

    Anyway, I can’t wait to tell all my friends how cool Dodd is. The guy knows how to Twitter! Can we get a copy of his favorite iPod playlist?

    PS– I hope the signing of Mary Landrieux’ former campaign manager, a practiced triangulator, isn’t a sign that Dodd is going to attempt a run to the middle. His recent embrace of Joe Lieberman is not a good omen.

  2. I refuse to go on Twitter. I don’t need to know what anyone is doing 24 hours a day. Btw, if Dodd even knows what Twitter is then I am the next POTUS.

  3. SenChrisDodd: Hey! Geithner! WTF!!? You told me no one would even notice this AIG bailout stuff. Next thing you know I’m the posterboy for this crap!
    SecGeithner: Woah, big boy. You’re the one who took all that campaign dough. Didn’t hear you complaining then!
    SenChrisDodd: That’s totally different. I had all those moving expenses getting out to Iowa.
    SecGeithner: Not like you had to move to Ireland, eh? 😉
    SenChrisDodd: Real funny…Not nearly as bad as all you Goldman boys helping each other out. Thank God no one’s hooked onto that one yet or we’d all be in trouble.
    SecGeithner: If that happens, do you have a spare bedroom in your cottage?

  4. For the record, I think the Huskies will pull this one out – they aren’t losing until they run into an NBA-quality big man, and it’s not happening today (although I think the Tigers may be a year or two away from becoming a perennial favorite to make the final four).

    Hope your right, of course, but I really wish we still had Dyson. He was probably our best perimeter defender, and it would be nice to have him around to slow down Mizzou’s guards. Their break was scary good in the first half of the Memphis game. If the pace of this game is as fast as the Missouri-Memphis game, Thabeet will be much less of a factor then we’re used to on D.

    Worried about this one, but we’ll find out soon enough…

  5. Holy Smokes the Dems found out about Twitter?

    Does Healy know about this yet?

    ACR

  6. I actualy think Twitter may now be played out.

Leave a Reply

