Dodd Raises Money, Just Not from CT

This isn’t good:

The five-term incumbent reported raising just $4,250 from five Connecticut residents during the first three months of the year while raking in $604,745 from nearly 400 individuals living outside the state. (Urban)

This is not the way to reconnect with the citizens of whatever state it is Chris Dodd represents.

Source
Urban, Peter. “Only 5 state residents donated to Dodd.” Connecticut Post 17 April, 2009.

8 responses to “Dodd Raises Money, Just Not from CT

  1. The five-term incumbent reported raising just $4,250 from five Connecticut residents during the first three months of the year while raking in $604,745 from nearly 400 individuals living outside the state. (Urban)

    Holy crap!!!

    I want the guy to go and everything, but geez — what was he thinking?

    Obviously been out of Connecticut wayyy tooo long. Or, in DC wayy tooo long.

    Either way…. could be fodder for a great commercial.

  2. I love this quote from Dodd’s campaign:

    “This lays a solid foundation to build a strong, grassroots campaign that will remind the people of Connecticut that Sen. Dodd has been fighting on their side”

    Dodd and his staff continue to think CT voters are stupid.

  3. I’m disgusted with Dodd and his opposition to transparency. But in fairness to him, is this a case of reporting only donations greater than $200?

    I donated about $300 to Ron Paul… but you won’t see my name on any reports because I donated below $200 a few times.

    I have not yet donated to Connecticut’s next US Senator, Sam Caligiuri. I did donate $20 to the Draft Peter Scheff campaign though… I really wanna see Monetary Policy in the debate this time.

  4. I’m disgusted with Dodd and his opposition to transparency. But in fairness to him, is this a case of reporting only donations greater than $200?

    Yes. Only donations over $200 are reported.

  5. I donated about $300 to Ron Paul… but you won’t see my name on any reports because I donated below $200 a few times.

    Exactly!
    A whole bunch of 180’s won’t show either.

    Keeps you off the databases.

  6. I thought it was interesting that the article doesn’t reflect the Dodd campaign being contacted for comment on the story. No quotes (just a line pulled from a previous press release), no “could not be reached for comment” line.

    Now, it doesn’t really look like this story would look a lot better for Dodd, even with the unitemized donations added in. But as a piece of journalism, it looks pretty suspect.

    ACR – I’m pretty sure that any donation that makes your total over $200 has to be reported. There are a number of $100 donations that are reported in the Dodd filing — people who had an aggregate of $600, $3000, etc.

  7. There are a number of $100 donations that are reported in the Dodd filing — people who had an aggregate of $600, $3000, etc.

    And even yet, only five from CT.

    He couldn’t ask his gardener, or Jackie’s relatives, of you’d think his staffers would donate?

    I’m thinking Amann and Dodd are using the same fundraising firm.

  8. ACR – I’m pretty sure that any donation that makes your total over $200 has to be reported. There are a number of $100 donations that are reported in the Dodd filing — people who had an aggregate of $600, $3000, etc.

    I thought so too – but the aggregate’s don’t seem to appear on any of the usual websites.

    I nearly maxed on one campaign last year; but I don’t show up at all – which suits me fine.

    This year I’m buying my Bush Dinner tickets via series of smaller online donations in the hopes that won’t show up either.

    Once you’re marked as a “good donor” the phone never stops.

    The RNC calls me daily, as does some state central committee in the midwest.

Leave a Reply

