Some Eastern Connecticut Caucus Results

The Party Caucuses are starting to choose their nominees for the November local elections. Here are the results of some of the caucuses held last night, July 22, 2009, as reported in the New London DAY.

Norwich: Republicans select former state Representative and current Alderman Peter Nystrom as Mayoral Candidate. Other selections are: Aldermen (City Council): William Nash, Andreanna Becker, and Dianne Slopak. Board of Education: Harlan Hyde, Charles Norris, Aaron Daniels, and Jay Gelfond.

Old Saybrook: Republicans renominate Michael Pace as First Selectman. Other nominations are: Selectman- Bill Peace; Town Treasurer – Bob Fish; Town Clerk – Sarah Becker; Tax Collector – Barry Maynard; Board of Finance – George W. Whelen IV, David F. LaMay, and Grant Westerson; Board of Education – Donna C. Dunn, Joanne M. Sullivan, and Holly R. King; Board of Assessment Appeals – Ruth M. FitzGerald and Geraldine M. Lewis; Planning Commission – Donald Ranaudo; Planning Commisson Alternates – Mariln t. Milliken and Cameron Evangelisti; Police Commission – Christina P. Burnham and Jean B. Winkler; Zoning Commisson- Robert C. Friedmann and Geraldine M. Lewis; Zoning Commission Alternates – Charles E. Sohl and David Shearer; Zoning Board of Appeals – Rexford H. McCall, Dorothy T. Alexander, and Brian H. Dooley; Zoning Board of Appeals Alternates – Allan Fogg, and Kent Johnson; Parks and Recreation Commission – Scott Giegerich; Harbor Management Commission – Raymond V. Collins Jr and Peter Fredrickson.

Salem -Democrats select Independent Kevin Lyden to run for First Selectman. Other nominations are: Treasurer – Mary Ann Ferren. Unfortunately, the DAY did not report the names of any other Democratic nominees.

Griswold – Democrats endorse incumbent Philip Anthony as First Selectman. Other nominees named in the DAY article are: Selectman – State Representative Steve Mikutel.

Old Lyme – Republicans nominate incumbent Timothy Griswold. Other nominees are: Selectman – Arthur “Skip” Sibley; Town Clerk – Eileen Coffee; Board of Finance – Andrew Russell and Janet Sturges; Board of Finance Alternates David Kelsey and Judith Read; Board of Education – Russell Gomes, Allison Hine, Victoria Lanier and Steven J. Cinami; Planning Commission – Harold Thompson and Steven Ross; Zoning Commission – Thomas Risom; Zoning Board of Appeals – Richard Moll; Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate – Frances C. Sadowski and Marilyn Ossmann; Board of Assessment Appeals – Robert Dunn.

Waterford – Republicans nominate incumbent Dan Steward for First Selectman. Other Nominees are: Selectman – Paul Suprin; Treasurer- Bernie Pisacich; Board of Finance – Ron Fedor, Norman Glidden and Brian Vachris; Board of Education – Kathleen McCarty, John Taglianetti; Representative Town Meeting (RTM) First District – Bruce Shewbrooks, John Doroski and Rodney Pinkham; RTM Second District – Judith Coughlin and Michael Hannan; RTM Third District – Richard Muckle, Kimberly Alfultis, Steven Garvin, and Mark Gelinas; RTM District Four – Thomas Dembek, John Foley, George C. White, and Robert Brule; Zonng Board of Appeals – Peter Benfeldt and Barbara Panciera; Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate – Catherine L. Newlin; Board of Assessment Appeals – Richard Lamcombe.

Lisbon (this list is courtesy of a small article in the Norwich Bulletin)
Republicans – First Selectman – incumbent Tom Sparkman; Selectman – Robert Grant
Democrats – First Selectman – No Candidate; Selectman – Raymond Sterns
Republican Judy Jencks lost to Sparkman at the Caucus and plans to run for First Selectman as a petitioning Candidate in the general election on November 3, 2009.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s