Waterbury – GOP endorses Jarjura for Mayor

Brenda, it looks like that “Vancy guy”, otherwise known as J. Paul Vance Jr. (D), Mayoral candidate, is no liar. Bryan P Baker (R) reports on his blog that last night at the Waterbury Republican convention, the Republicans decided to cross-endorse incumbent Democrat Mayor Michael Jarjura as he runs for a fifth term in office.

As a result of this cross endorsement, the Republicans only put up six candidates for the Board of Aldermen, and three candidates for the Board of Education. The candidates that will appear on Row A this November are:

Mayor – Mike Jarjura (D)

Town Clerk – Antoinette Spinelli (D)

City Clerk – Mike Dalton (D)

City Sherrif – Steve Conway (D)

Board of Aldermen – Paul Ciochetti, Carlo Palladino, Jason Van Stone, Sam Rush, Jerry Padula, Bryan Baker

Board of Education – Charles Stango, Christine Chauncey, Ollie Gray

The decision to cross endorse the Mayor was met with some dissension in the Republican ranks, as it sounded like at least 6 members of the Town Committee voted against the cross endorsement.

Why would the GOP do this? Having come third place to the Dems and the Independents in the past three city elections (’03, ’05, ’07) and with a mere two seats on the 15 member Board of Aldermen, it’s an interesting situation where the Republicans are joining forces with the incumbent Democratic slate to try and gain over the Independents, who are considered “obstructionist”, and build their way back to the secondary minority party from there.

As Ghengis said in his earlier post on the subject “Thank you, Waterbury, for being interesting this year.”

32 responses to “Waterbury – GOP endorses Jarjura for Mayor

  1. Brenda, it looks like that “Vancy guy”, otherwise known as J. Paul Vance Jr. (D), Mayoral candidate, is no liar

    Thanks and remember where you heard it first.

    Bryan P Baker (R) reports on his blog

    Nice catch Sarah!

    Bryan’s a nice young fellow, who associates with a whole flock of 30ish and younger Dudley Doright Boy Scout types.

    Waterbury will be well served should they put him on their Board of Alderman.

  2. EastMountain

    If you look back, Brenda’s claim was that Alderman Vance lied about Mayor Jarjura “seeking” the nomination. It’s pretty clear the GOP courted Jarjura.

    Call that one a tie.

  3. It’s pretty clear the GOP courted Jarjura.

    How is that “pretty clear”??

  4. Tom Van Stone

    It’s pretty clear the GOP courted Jarjura.

    I think the Dem’s pretty much decided that Jarjura was their man. The Republican’s just joined them. The GOP didn’t have to “court” anyone, the candidate was served right to them.

  5. Tom Van Stone

    Bryan’s a nice young fellow, who associates with a whole flock of 30ish and younger Dudley Doright Boy Scout types.

    Very true. There’s a good crop of “unadulterated” Republicans in the ranks right now. Given the exposure, I think there’s some viable city leaders in there.

  6. Very true. There’s a good crop of “unadulterated” Republicans in the ranks right now. Given the exposure, I think there’s some viable city leaders in there.

    From your keyboard to God’s flatscreen.

    Board of Aldermen – Paul Ciochetti, Carlo Palladino, Jason Van Stone, Sam Rush, Jerry Padula, Bryan Baker

    You related to Jason?
    He’s quite the dapper guy; moving in on suave.
    Don’t see that many younger guys even try to pull that off anymore.

  7. AndersonScooper

    Well, slapping Hispanics everywhere in the face, Caligiuri just came out and stated that he would vote AGAINST SOTOMAYOR! This of course puts him out of the New England center, but esconces him dearly with the Right’s social conservative nuts.

    Where do Simmons and Foley stand on this important Supreme Court nomination?

  8. Well, slapping Hispanics everywhere in the face, Caligiuri just came out and stated that he would vote AGAINST SOTOMAYOR! This of course puts him out of the New England center, but esconces him dearly with the Right’s social conservative nuts.

    Did Obama slap Italians in the face when he came out and said he would vote AGAINST ALITO? Did that ensconce him with the Left’s social liberal nuts (like yourself)?

  9. Joe Sixpack

    Caligiuri favors strict constructionists, a belief he puts in practice when voting on CT supreme and appellate judges. He is consistent. But let’s get back on track –

  10. In the interest of full disclosure, and not to take anything away from Sara, I must admit that I sent her the link to my blog last night. Considering the post from last week I hoped she would find it interesting enough to include. I was flattered when she said she would post it, and link to my blog.

    Tom and ACR, thanks for your support, now I only need 4500 people who feel just like you in the city of Waterbury.

    Bryan Baker
    Republican Candidate for Board of Aldermen
    Waterbury, CT

  11. Sara, you start our your post speaking directly to “Brenda”? Come on, what about Puffy! I thought we had something special going on here…lol

  12. Tom Van Stone

    You related to Jason?
    He’s quite the dapper guy; moving in on suave.
    Don’t see that many younger guys even try to pull that off anymore.

    He’s my cousin and fellow Waterbury RTC member. Vote for him, he babysat me as a kid and I turned out ok.

  13. He’s my cousin and fellow Waterbury RTC member. Vote for him, he babysat me as a kid and I turned out ok.

    Classy cousin; and I’d do it save for the fact I live in Southington.

  14. Sara, you start our your post speaking directly to “Brenda”? Come on, what about Puffy! I thought we had something special going on here…lol

    Aw, sorry Puffy. Blame it on the killer migraine I had last night. I promise to do better next time 😉

  15. sara,

    The point I made earlier is that Vancy was in no position to make comments about a party (the Republicans) that is NOT HIS to comment about since he’s a Democrat. It’s also wrong and irresponsible of him to claim that Jarjura was “seeking” the GOP endosement. Once again, he isn’t Mike Jarjura nor is he Jarjura’s campaign manager, he’s Jarjura’s OPPONENT so anything he says about claiming to have some inside knowledge about what Mike Jarjua is thinking leads me to believe he may be a liar.

    Vancy ought to just plain stick to the facts about himself instead of making things up about or spectulating about what his opponent is thinking.

    Sounds to me like ole Vancy caught wind that the Republicans were considering endorsing Jarjura and he took it upon himself to twist the facts (aka lying) by publicly saying that “Jarjura is seeking the GOP endorsement.” I have yet to see anyone produce any evidence to support Vancy’s fantasy here.

    I’m sure there are hundreds of cases across the state over the past week where one major party endorsed a candidate from the other major party where the candidate had no knowledge that this was happening nor did the candidate actively “seek” the other party’s endorsement.

  16. famillionaire

    Brenda,
    You “logic” is insane and your clear anger at something appears to be clouding your judgment. Lying? A Liar? I think we all know exactly who should be wearing that moniker. I will only say that it is fact that Jarjura sought the nomination for the rest of the readers as discussed in prior threads and now proven as such here. I do not say this to you, because you are obviously beyond reason.

    I now know exactly where to file your blog posts and have figured out exactly what you are.

  17. Brenda,
    I will only say that it is fact that Jarjura sought the nomination for the rest of the readers as discussed in prior threads and now proven as such here. I do not say this to you, because you are obviously beyond reason.

    It’s YOUR logic that is “insane.” Where is your proof that “Jarjura sought the nomination?” Oh that’s right, there isn’t any! I’m not “angry” and you claim I am. You’re no better than Vancy, you just plain make things up when you have no idea what my state of mind is!

    Unlike you and Vancy, I haven’t made any statements here where I’m “lying.”

  18. 911helpforwtby

    You need to live in Waterbury to understand Waterbury politics.
    Fact:
    Mayor Jarjura is very very good friends with John Rowland and the Santopietro family which push the Waterbury Republican party to throw their support his way.
    Jajura’s first Democatic primary for Mayor candidacy, Rowland gave his support to him .
    The Santopietro family time & time again helped him with his 74th district state rep seat.
    Fact:
    Last summer (2008) who, but good old Mayor Mike Jarjura, walked David Cappiello around and introduced him at the Lady of Mount Carmel and the Pontie Club events.
    All these facts clearly point out that Mike Jarjura is not a true Democrat.
    The biggest worry for J Vance to be concerned about is Primary day.
    In my opinion, there were two elections that were totally questionable with Jarjura
    First, 74th district Rep Seat against Republican Phil Mongelluzzo.
    His second one was his first Mayoral run against Larry DePillo. Please look at the numbers that separated them.
    MY adive to Mr.Vance is to have the Feds in town to watch over your primary day election results. Watch those Absentee votes!. Good luck Mr.Vance.

  19. “ole Vancy?” I go by “Paul” or “Vance”, but I am sure not ‘ole’ yet. I post under my real name because I don’t make things up. If someone points out where I “am lying”, I would be happy to answer to it. If you want to see my entire press release on the subject, it is on my website at votevance.com

    So who courted who? It was the worst kept secret in Town that there was some double dealing going on and I think it is wrong. Jarjura, when asked by the media if he would run on the Republican line, pretended that he did not already sign a consent form to run on a Double Machine. He was not honest about his intentions.

    As a Democrat, I think it is wrong that Jarjura would do that to his running mates- the Board of Aldermen and Board of Education candidates. I picked a party and I stick with my teammates. I played for Holy Cross, I didn’t get to suit up for Sacred Heart as well.

    As for Bryan Baker, ACR- I agree with you. Baker is a solid guy and a good candidate. I will be happy to post a link to my running mates for the Primary on this site. I have some very good people with a good mix of experienced candidates and new folks.

    Waterbury is never boring, but it shouldn’t be negative.

  20. Vancy, what in the heck are you talking about when you say:

    pretended that he did not already sign a consent form to run on a Double Machine.

    This is where you are just tossing crap against the wall to see if it will stick. You continue to stretch the truth and spew misleading statement after misleading statement. The more you continue to do this the more you make yourseld look like an a$$.

    Can you tell us all here exactly what “consent form” you claim to have knowledge about? I think you’re lying. By the way, what is a “Double Machine” anyway?

    I honestly never knew anything about you until someone mentioned your name on this blog. I have since reviewed articles about the Waterbury Mayor’s race in the Republican American and honestly can’t believe the stupid things that come out of your mouth that wind up as quotes in the news papers.

    Just so that we’re clear (meaning that before you start slinging around more of your BS) I am by no means a Mike Jarjura operative or campaign worker, I barely know him and I live more than an hour away from Waterbury.

    If you think so darn highly of yourself the go start collecting signatures to force a Democratic primary against Jarjura instead of wasting time on blogs like this. You’ve got an awful lot of work ahead of you. Remember, the deadline is August 12th at 4:00pm and according to my calculations, you need at least 1376 signatures!! Personally, I highly doubt you’ll be able to get that all done in less than two weeks, that’s almost 100 per day!

    I dunno though, considering you got absoltely pounded at the caucus, maybe you should just save yourself the embarrassment of getting slaughtered in a Democratic primary because trust me, that WILL happen no matter how much you have yourself convinced it won’t!

  21. Brenda,

    First off calm down, we don’t need all of this ranting and raving, most people here are just trying to have a calm discussion about what happened. We don’t need the following here.

    This is where you are just tossing crap against the wall to see if it will stick. You continue to stretch the truth and spew misleading statement after misleading statement. The more you continue to do this the more you make yourseld look like an a$$.

    As for the cross-endorsement, I was sitting in the back of the Republican Convention and heard RTC Chairman Bill Harris read a letter from Mayor Jarjura accepting the GOP nomination. Considering both events were at the same time, the Mayor had to know the GOP endorsement was coming. Otherwise, how could the GOP already have an acceptance letter?

    Once again, he isn’t Mike Jarjura nor is he Jarjura’s campaign manager, he’s Jarjura’s OPPONENT so anything he says about claiming to have some inside knowledge about what Mike Jarjua is thinking leads me to believe he may be a liar.

    As for the above, it is the job of a good candidate to point out what you think your opponent is doing wrong. No campaign gets things 100% correct every time, but it’s very rude of you to assume that because it came from an opponent it must be a lie.

    As I said before, you need to relax. This isn’t the place for such venom, and the more you spew it, the more you prove famillionaire right.

  22. Can you tell us all here exactly what “consent form”

    The “permission” for a political party to place one’s name on their ballot.

    I think you’re lying.

    Don’t keep doing that with someone known to behave in an honorable fashion.
    Even the Democrats have decent people in their midst occasionally; only occasionally mind you – but it happens.

    By the way, what is a “Double Machine” anyway?

    Both party’s.

  23. Political parties can endorse anyone they want, there is no need for any kind of “consent form.”

    Most of you people need to “calm down” here Debi, Doug and Vancy. I never said Mr. Vance was a liar, go back and read every single one of my posts on this subject. I’m not “spewing venom” I’m simply pointing out that he has a habit of commenting on things that he shouldn’t be and twisting facts around into questionable and misleading statements.

    And Doug, what’s with the “Don’t keep doing that” line you just pointed my way? Are you telling me I’m not allow in your book to think that Mr. Vance may be lying? I didn’t call him a liar so how about you “Don’t keep doing that” okay? I have never anywhere called him a liar, I have and will continue to question his tactics because he has a proven track record of twisting the facts and speculating on things he really shouldn’t be. Sorry Doug, that’s my opinion and I’m entitled to it, just like your entitled to thnk he’s an honorable man.

  24. It sure is about 100 signatures daily, that much you are spot on Brenda. If I were at it alone, it would be a pretty tough challenge- but luckily, I have some people that think I am a good candidate. As for the primary results, nothing is impossible.

    Yes, I am running a primary. Since when is a primary a bad thing? Talking about issues in a City that is #2 in tax burden and #2 in unemployment makes sense– If we continue to do the same ole things, we can expect the same ole results.

    Irish Diplomacy is the ability to tell someone to go to hell so that they actually look forward to the trip. Sometimes a nice skill to have in politics.

    Have a great day everyone, I will be out getting signatures- today with my wife and the baby.

  25. Political parties can endorse anyone they want, there is no need for any kind of “consent form.”

    Sorry, Brenda. It really pains me to tell you that you’re completely wrong. Check out the Candidates’ Statement of Consent from the Secretary of the State’s website here. Jarjura signed one. Two, actually.

  26. Sorry, Brenda. It really pains me to tell you that you’re completely wrong. Check out the Candidates’ Statement of Consent from the Secretary of the State’s website here. Jarjura signed one. Two, actually.

    jimmy, how stupid are you, really? You are the one who is “completely wrong” here. The form you provided a link to is for NOMINATING PETITIONS, not for candidates who are endorsed by major parties. As I explained before, parties can endorse any qualified elector they want, even without the person’s knowledge. Jarjura DID NOT sign the form you gave in the link. Do you honestly have no clue or are you deliberately lying, which is it? My guess is you honestly have no clue and unfortunately, you shoot your mouth off and make yourself look like a complete a$$ in the process.

    You’re even more clueless than Megan Bard, the dope reporter who doesn’t know much about election law. Apparently, you know even less than she does.

  27. What dismissive nickname would you prefer that I give you? How’s Brendy?

    Brendy,

    Keep up the good work. I wish I could say that I respect your attempts to make CTLP the most obnoxious and negative forum possible, but really it’s just disappointing. I’ve enjoyed the debate that’s gone on here for years. You’re one of a kind. I love that I can sit at my computer and know you’ll have at least 2 or 3 comments designed completely to tear people down and reduce our discourse to name calling and occasional capital letters.

  28. attempts to make CTLP the most obnoxious and negative forum possible

    I haven’t any idea who she/he or whoever is; but she’s owned to liking the prince of darkness more than once so I’m not buying into any nonsense that whoever it is, is a Republican.

    Further; anyone who supported Belaga in 86 now makes as if they were no where near the scene of the crime.

  29. Brenda,

    mmmm…let’s see. You claim to live an hour away, barely know Mr. Jarjara, and have never even heard of Paul Vance until July 22, 2009 as you stated in your post. And by the way kid, his name is Mr. Vance…not Vancy!! If you really live an hour away…lets face it…you know NOTHING about Waterbury and the problems that exist!! I find it rather astonishing that you can speak so strongly against Mr. Vance, who you claim not to know, and incite that he twists facts and sounds like a liar. That’s quite an accusation considering that Mr. Vance was elected to the Board of Aldermen four terms in a row and chosen by his own colleagues to serve as the President of the Board for each of those four terms. Oh, and then you stated on July 30th that Vance “has a proven track record of twisting the facts”. A proven track record? Whose tracking whom? Your extraordinary choice of words suggests to me that you’ve known Mr. Vance much longer than you’re actually willing to admit! I’d also like to know where you’re getting your “insider” facts if you live an hour away, and why you’re paying so much attention to the Waterbury election? If you’re not a taxpayer and don’t live in Waterbury, why are you wasting your time casting stones at people you don’t otherwise know? You give the impression that you know so much about Waterbury politics and have this sort of intimate knowledge of who knew what, when, and how, and then you state “Jarjura DID NOT sign the form”. Really? Quite a strong statement from someone who barely knows Mr. Jarjura! It’s pretty easy to sit in front of a computer and spew negative comments and claim to have such first hand knowledge when you’re not making them face-to-face in public. Whether you are who you claim perhaps your time would be better spent helping a neighbor in need or organizing a neighborhood cleanup rather than criticizing someone who wants to build up Waterbury and make changes for the better. In work and in life I follow a simple rule that says it’s best to be part of the solution and not the problem! You’re certainly entitled to your opinion, so unless you’re willing to roll up your sleeves and offer ways to help make Waterbury a better place to live and do business your offensive name calling and outlandish comments do nothing more than add to the problem, and quite frankly, hold no value with me or the many people who read this blog.

  30. Keep up the good work. I wish I could say that I respect your attempts to make CTLP the most obnoxious and negative forum possible, but really it’s just disappointing. I’ve enjoyed the debate that’s gone on here for years. You’re one of a kind. I love that I can sit at my computer and know you’ll have at least 2 or 3 comments designed completely to tear people down and reduce our discourse to name calling and occasional capital letters.

    I see you refuse to admit you’re 100% wrong there jimmy. You made a wrong statement seething with obnoxious sarcasm and negative arrogance and you wonder why I reacted the way I did? You got what you deserved and you’re a hypocrite to boot since you engage in the exact behavior which you find offensive.

    You were WRONG regarding the fact that Mike Jarjura didn’t sign the form you claim he did, why don’t you just man up and admit it?

  31. bjm,

    Vancy twists facts and sounds like a liar, anyone can see that, even someone like me who lives over an hour away! It also doesn’t take a brain surgeon to know that Mike Jarjura didn’t sign any so-called “consent” form because there is no requirement for one as I explained before. The fact that I barely know him at all is completely irrelevant to the whole issue.

    That’s just too damn bad that you don’t like what I say, I don’t like what you say either and find that nothing you posted has any value at all. You are making all kinds of ridiculous statements and insinuations about me and it’s actually quite comical! Do you see black helicopters hovering over your house at night too?

    Your time would indeed be better spent pickup up garbage on Watertown Avenue as part of a neighborhood cleanup instead of helping Vancy collect those petition signatures because unlike you, I have no personal stake in who the Mayor of Waterbury is. Therefore I can say with 100% certainty that if Vance does indeed collect enough signatures to qualify for a Democratic primary, he will lose to Mike Jarjura.

    Be sure to stop by Frankie’s for a hot dog when you get done with the neighborhood clean up will ya? I’ll make sure you get a free soda with your hot dog, it’s on me, tell ’em “Brenda” sent ya!

  32. I haven’t any idea who she/he or whoever is; but she’s owned to liking the prince of darkness more than once so I’m not buying into any nonsense that whoever it is, is a Republican.

    Geez Doug, lighten up will ya? I always thought you had a good sense of humor but maybe I was wrong…….

    Who’s the “Prince of Darkness” anyway, John Rowland?

Leave a Reply

